Wonder and the Wooden Post

by thecustomhouse

I came home from work one day, tired and feeling low, to find this note in my inbox.  What a lovely surprise to have pushed under my door.  Its author specializes in the type of thoughtful praise that is so easy to take for granted, and so wildly missed in its absence:

Caitlin I think it was Emily Dickinson that said that you know you miss somebody when you imagine the things you would say to them or the conversations you would have together. If she is right–which I am in no position to doubt–then it is rather safe to say that I do miss you. Before your eyes roll in that way that only I seem to elicit, consider this short story that surfaced out of my world of letters that made me think especially of you:

Wonder and the Wooden Post by G.K. Chesterton

