Phantoms

by thecustomhouse

“And were my faith so strong that it could move mountains, that is the mountain that I would make come to me.”

-Isak Dinesen, Out of Africa

I know exactly what she means… There are places and moments in time that I feel so acutely that the sensation of simply missing them is no longer available. I feel them when they are not there. It’s a sort of phantom pain. As though the places that I love, the moments in my life, and the people who were once mine were extensions of me–not necessary to life, but traumatic in their absence. They leave a living hole. Of course, we can live without being complete (without arms, without legs), but we never cease to wish we didn’t have to…

And were my faith so strong it could move mountains, I would not move mountains, I would move one mountain and call it by name.

